Spring Influenza

More commonly known as ‘spring fever,’ this common calamity often hits citizens unawares a month or so before spring, hence the name. Its symptoms include restless pacing, incessant garden magazine purchasing, damaged eyesight due to constant perusal of seed catalogues, chills from wandering outdoors, and itchy fingers. The only cure is to wait until warmer weather, when it is acceptable to plant without fear of frost, and plunge fingers into warm earth repeatedly until symptoms alleviate.

Alas, it has struck me this year, as it does every year, and I find myself yearning towards beautiful, bountiful bowers of blooms. I was silly enough to escalate the disease by borrowing a book on English roses from the library. It’s oversized high-gloss pages, awash with images of decadent frilly delight, intensify the symptoms til I nearly go starkers. Does anyone else reading suffer this horrid plight? I would love to know I’m not alone.

Part of the problem too is that my fever is never fully satiated. Here in the warm south, with summer temperatures rising well above 100 in the shade, it becomes a chore unbearable to work in the garden during the day. Even the early morning sees heat waves shimmering on the pavement, and it’s more than a soul can bear to brave the rays and step outside at all. So any garden languishes during the later summer months, and so nothing really gets done.

I know this full well, but it doesn’t stop the desire for green things growing around me.

So, this year, I decided to try something a bit new. For me, anyway. As I love herbs and tea, I will make myself a small indoor garden full of such delights as chamomile, lavender, lemongrass, peppermint, and anything else that catches my fancy. Not only will I keep a supply of tea fresh on hand, I will satisfy my gardening desires without ever having to set one tender foot upon the scorching concrete.

A remedy at last? We shall see. This little experiment of mine may prove faulty, in that I may find myself as lazy as ever and not tend to an indoor garden any more than an outdoor. Once it gets underway, I may chronicle its evolution, and perhaps the extra resolution of posting about it here will keep me motivated.

OTTERMEI

Leave a Reply

