seeing the world… in sculpture

This morning my mother and I went to the Nasher Sculpture Center downtown, and I must say, it was a wonderful experience. The center is rather small, but it has many fine pieces in its permanent collection, and the traveling show we went to see was excellent. ‘Statuesque,’ an exhibit by several artists, redefines the human body for the modern age, conglomerating many textures and shapes in rendering the form.

Not all of the pieces I took pictures of were from this show, but I’ll specify.

crowd1 crowd4

crowd2

crowd3

Magdalena Abakanowicz, Bronze Crowd, 1990-91. Bronze.

This piece was my favorite in the museum. The caption in the pamphlet read, “A crowd is the most cruel because it begins to act like a brainless organism.” Too true. The artist lived during WWII, and so she saw firsthand the dehumanization perpetrated by the Nazis. The figures are all headless, and merely shells. This wasn’t in ‘Statuesque,’ but I put it first because it’s the first piece I looked at.

myrtles landscape

This is just a peek of some of the beautiful landscaping they have. It’s quite a treat in itself just to walk around.

nation1 nation2

Matthew Monahan. Nation Builder, 2010. Bronze.

I really liked this piece as well. It was off by itself, on these terraced steps leading down to the side doors of the museum. He looks somewhat cyborg-like to me.

pink

Aaron Curry. Horned Head Trip (reclining), 2010. Powder coated aluminum.

This one just makes me laugh. A great neon pink monstrosity sitting in the middle of the lawn. Somewhat like a child’s forgotten toy.

rushour

rushour2

George Segal. Rush Hour, 1983. Bronze.

This one was just creepy. The faces are so realistic, and with their eyes closed, it reminds one of a horror movie. Also not part of the traveling show, but still worth mentioning.

balloon1

And then downstairs in the Martin Creed exhibit, there was this strange room. We were walking down the steps when a couple, laughing and looking a little nonplussed, entreated us to go in. We said no, of course not, I could never, and other non-committal mutters, but they went on so we decided to go ahead. Why not? Once in a lifetime opportunity to be in a room full of balloons, after all.

balloon2 balloon3

Myself before (left), and after (right). If you look very very closely on the after, you can see my hair standing on end. It was the strangest experience I’ve ever had. Yes, it was exactly as you’d expect, being in a room full of balloons, but you just aren’t prepared for the roaring of the static electricity as you move around and shove balloons hither and thither. And too, it’s nearly impossible to maneuver with any sense of direction. You’re more or less left to wander aimlessly.

Easily the most exciting thing that’s happened to me this week.

I feel very cultured after spending time there, and my mother and I both agree we need to frequent the Arts District much more than we do. We spied the Asian Museum nearby…

Soon enough.

ottermei

Leave a Reply

