like a gypsy…boho inspired

I was going through my blogroll the other day and this guest post, on Her Library Adventures, really reminded me how much I love the bohemian culture.

picture courtesy of herlibraryadventures.blogspot.com.

I picked up this book randomly at the library one day, and was so glad I did. Ever pick up a decorating book purely to look at pictures? That’s usually what I do. And this one was chock full of lovely rooms stuffed with colorful patterns and Turkish ornaments.

They also have a Flickr group dedicated to the book and anything it’s inspired. .

picture copyright lakbdesign/fergusandme on Flickr.

Notice the butterfly chandelier. I really really want one.

Gypsy Moon Designs on Etsy has a lot of intricate, ornate jewelry that follows the boho chic theme.

Even though most people think dark, complex, Indian- or Turkish-inspired patterns and themes for bohemian, anything colorful, whimsical or highly ornamental fits the category.

This mock chandelier is so cute and bright.

And this set by Anthropologie is absolutely stunning. I realize it’s a shop, but what I wouldn’t give to live in it.

Bohemian fashion is a little easier to distinguish. Long, flowing dresses, diaphanous shirts and skirts, heavy jewelry and hair ornaments really characterize the style.

Also, in my most recent post, the caravan embroidery done by Three Red Apples fits in quite nicely. It might have been that as well that kick-started my boho obsession.

Call me a hippy: I won’t altogether deny it. If I could live in a retro trailer and wear long dresses everyday and just paint the rest of my life, I would be content.

ottermei

5 thoughts on “like a gypsy…boho inspired

Leave a Reply

