I’m NOT a little teapot

Who was the clever fellow who invented the teapot? And who was the idiot who invented the “teapot” song? Do they have anything to do with one another? Only that they are on opposite ends of the intelligence spectrum regarding one useful item. I ❤ teapots. Ever so much. I don’t use them as much as I would like, but I would like them as much even if they weren’t useful.

The sophisticated Blue Willow. Gawjus dahling.

This is my favorite. The Firebird by Franz Porcelain. More art than utensil, I would create a niche in my wall with a sledgehammer and frame it with lights and choirs.

From my own collection, I boast these beauties.

teapot1teapot2

On the left we have the gold and blue pattern of Russia, bought in a Russian outdoor market when I was in Russia. (You thought I was going to say San Francisco, didn’t you?) On the right we have a little tea for one pot and cup bought somewhere in the nearby locale of where I live. A pair of sturdy, highly decorative vessels, yet nevertheless functional and delightful.

So, stop reading and go make yourself a cup of tea. Read the quotes below for the reasons why.

ottermei

There is no trouble so great or grave that cannot be much diminished by a nice cup of tea.  ~Bernard-Paul Heroux

Strange how a teapot can represent at the same time the comforts of solitude and the pleasures of company.  ~Author Unknown

“Tea! That’s all I needed! Good cup of tea! Super-heated infusion of free-radicals and tannin, just the thing for healing the synapses…” ~Doctor Who

Leave a Reply

