shel

shel2

shel1

I don’t know about anyone else, but I grew up with some of the strangest reading. Shel Silverstein featured alongside Calvin and Hobbes, Hank the Cowdog, Anne of Green Gables and the Boxcar Children.

Only now, a wee bit older and not at all any more grown up, do I appreciate just how odd Silverstein is. Not only are his drawings fanciful and have a teetering look to them, but are often macabre as well as bizarre.

And have you ever heard him read one of his poems? Strange, strange..

shel3shel4

shel5

Rain

I opened my eyes

And looked up at the rain,

And it dripped in my head

And flowed into my brain,

And all that I hear as I lie in my bed

Is the slishity-slosh of the rain in my head.

I step very softly,

I walk very slow,

I can’t do a handstand–

I might overflow,

So pardon the wild crazy thing I just said–

I’m just not the same since there’s rain in my head.

~Shel Silverstein

ottermei

Crane Count: 57

One thought on “shel

Leave a Reply

